Heated saline extracts of 89 strains, and (1) supernates of phenol-water extracts (L fractions), (2) purified lipopolysaccharide, (3) trichloracetic-acid (TCA) extracts, and (4) sodium-hydroxide extracts of 23 strains representing all O antigens were subjected to electrophoresis. Precipitation lines obtained with homologous and heterologous antisera were evaluated by electrodensitometric measurement. The characteristics of the immunoelectrophoretic groups established were as follows. : two lines running at different rates towards the anode; three subgroups on the basis of the behaviour of alkali-treated antigens. : triple line at the starting well, alkali sensitive. : triple line at the starting well, alkali resistant; two subgroups according to reactivity or non-reactivity of L fractions. : triple line on the cathode side, alkali resistant, L fraction non-reactive. : single line on the anode side, alkali sensitive, L fraction and TCA extract non-reactive. O antigens identified by agglutination corresponded closely with the immunoelectrophoretic pattern: strains with identical O antigens or sharing major somatic components fell, with one exception, into the same immunoelectrophoretic group.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error