SUMMARY: A study of the life cycle of four sporing Actinomycetes by Robinow's methods for the demonstration of Feulgen-positive chromatinic structures and of bacterial membranes, reveals two phases of growth in these organisms differing markedly in their morphological structure. These are: the primary or substratum mycelium which, by a special process, produces characteristic cells called ‘initial cells’, and the secondary or aerial mycelium which arises from the initial cells. The nuclear structures of the secondary mycelium undergo a division by which small rod-or dumbbell-shaped structures arise. Two of these appear to fuse, forming the round spore nucleus which, together with cytoplasm and enclosing membrane, represents the spore. The spores in their turn reproduce the primary mycelium.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error