Preliminary observations are reported on the use of phage pools for the group and species diagnosis of enterococci together in one test. Three principal pools were used, namely: (1) pool of 20 phages for group diagnosis, (2) pool of 17 phages for species diagnosis and (3) pool of 3 phages for diagnosis.

By this method, 171 of 175 strains of enterococci isolated in the clinical laboratory (97·7%) were identified. A collection of standard group D strains showed different sensitivities according to species. The separate pools of phages for and for can be used to distinguish between members of these two species, but this test is at present rather less sensitive than the test with the 20-phage pool.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error