Antigenic relationships among 20 strains of haemorrhagic fever with renal syndrome (HFRS) viruses isolated in Korea, China, U.S.S.R., Finland, Japan and U.S.A. were examined with rat immune sera, patient sera, eight monoclonal antibodies against the SR-11 strain and 10 monoclonal antibodies against the 76–118 strain. Antigen analyses by indirect immunofluorescent antibody and immune adherence haemagglutination tests using polyclonal and monoclonal antibodies demonstrated that HRFS viruses may be divided into four serotypes, i.e. (Type 1), (Type 2), (Type 3) and (Type 4). Further, it was demonstrated that Type 1 could be divided into three subtypes and Type 3 into two subtypes. The two sets of monoclonal antibodies were useful for identification of the antigenic types of viruses isolated from patients in endemic areas.

Keyword(s): HFRS virus , MAbs and serotyping

Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error