The Senate of the University of Queensland is pleased to present the van Niel International Prize for Studies in Bacterial Systematics for the triennium 2011–2014 to Dr Nikos C. Kyrpides in recognition of the contributions made to the field of bacterial systematics. The award established by Professor V. B. D. Skerman of the University of Queensland honours the contribution of scholarship in the field of microbiology by Professor Cornelis Bernardus van Niel.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...



  1. Kyrpides N.C., Woyke T., Eisen J.A., Garrity G.M., Lilburn T.G., Beck B.J., Whitman W.B., Hugenholtz P., Klenk H.-P. ( 2013;). Genomic Encyclopedia of Type Strains, Phase I: the one thousand microbial genomes (KMG-I) project. Stand Genomic Sci 9 12781284. [CrossRef]
    [Google Scholar]
  2. Stanier R.Y. ( 1971;). Toward an evolutionary taxonomy of the bacteria. . In Recent Advances in Microbiology, pp. 595604. Edited by Perez-Miravete A., Pelaez D. Mexico: Asociación Mexicana de Microbiología;.
    [Google Scholar]
  3. Wu D., Hugenholtz P., Mavromatis K., Pukall R., Dalin E., Ivanova N.N., Kunin V., Goodwin L., Wu M., other authors. ( 2009;). A phylogeny-driven genomic encyclopaedia of Bacteria and Archaea. Nature 462 10561060. [CrossRef]
    [Google Scholar]
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error