In 1994, the Judicial Commission of the ICSB announced that Le Minor and Popoff's Request for an Opinion in 1987 to designate Salmonella enterica sp. nov., nom. rev. as the type and only species of the genus Salmonella was denied. Thus, the current species of the genus Salmonella are Salmonella typhimurium, Salmonella enteritidis, Salmonella typhi, Salmonella choleraesuis (including six subspecies) and Salmonella bongori, with the type species, S. choleraesuis (Smith 1894) Weldin 1927 (Approved Lists 1980). Because the decision of the Judicial Commission about the request by Le Minor in 1987 was suspended for 7 years, the non-validated name 'S. enterica' has been used among microbiologists and has caused confusion in the nomenclature of Salmonella. In order to overcome such confusion, and because of their importance as human pathogens, we herein propose to recognize the nomenclatural status of S. typhi, S. enteritidis and S. typhimurium as species and request to issue an Opinion to conserve the specific epithets enteritidis and typhimurium in the species names Salmonella enteritidis and Salmonella typhimurium.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error