The genus Abiotrophia currently includes four species, Abiotrophia defectiva, Abiotrophia adiacens, Abiotrophia balaenopterae and Abiotrophia elegans. Recent 16S rRNA gene sequencing studies have demonstrated that the genus is not monophyletic and is in need of taxonomic revision. Phylogenetically, the genus Abiotrophia consists of two distinct lines, A. defectiva, the type species of the genus, and a robust group consisting of A. adiacens, A. balaenopterae and A. elegans. Therefore, it is formally proposed that the genus Abiotrophia should be restricted to A. defectiva and that A. adiacens, A. balaenopterae and A. elegans should be reclassified in a new genus, Granulicatella, as Granulicatella adiacens comb. nov., Granulicatella balaenopterae comb. nov. and Granulicatella elegans comb. nov.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error