The phylogenetic structure of genus Micromonospora within actinomycetes was examined by analysing the gyrB sequences of 15 validly described species and four subspecies. All but one of the Micromonospora strains formed a tight cluster, as had previously been demonstrated by a 16S rDNA-based phylogenetic analysis. However, the intrageneric relationships deduced from the gyrB-based phylogeny were different from those based on their 16S rDNA sequences. To examine which phylogeny would be more relevant for classifying genus Micromonospora, DNA-DNA hybridization experiments were performed. The gyrB-based classification agrees with the results of the DNA-DNA hybridization studies, indicating that this classification method is useful for analysing the phylogenetic relationships of high G+C Gram-positive bacteria at the level of the genomic species. Genus Micromonospora was reclassified into the following 14 species: Micromonospora echinospora, Micromonospora pallida, Micromonospora nigra, Micromonospora purpureochromogenes, Micromonospora aurantiaca, Micromonospora carbonacea, Micromonospora chalcea, Micromonospora chersina, Micromonospora coerulea, Micromonospora gallica, Micromonospora halophytica, Micromonospora inositola, Micromonospora olivasterospora and Micromonospora rosaria.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error