Deoxyribonucleic acid-deoxyribonucleic acid reassociation and deoxyribonucleic acid-ribosomal ribonucleic acid cistron similarity studies showed that the anaerobic, gram-positive cocci comprise a rather heterogeneous group of bacteria. The deoxyribonucleic acid-ribosomal ribonucleic acid hybridization studies distinguished seven groups. Groups 1 and 2 consisted of and , respectively. ATCC 14963 (T = type strain) and ATCC 29427 formed a third group, and DSM 20364 together with Hare group VIII strain NCTC 9820 formed group 4. DSM 20357 was more closely related to ATCC 25553 and ATCC 25759 than to any of the other species studied. strains DSM 20468 and DSM 20367 together with strains belonging to Hare group IX formed group 6, and group 7 consisted of DSM 20469. Strains of different Hare groups were all assigned to one of the seven groups or to the genus (Hare group VIIb strain NCTC 9819) or the genus (Hare group VIa strain NCTC 9806). The anaerobic cocci also have a diversity of murein structures. This is the first report showing that strains belonging to the same species have different murein types.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...


Most cited this month Most Cited RSS feed

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error